State Secretary

February 2021

Welcome to a New Year Brother Knights.  Here it is a New Year.  Lots to consider and lots to do.

I have had a couple of thoughts that have crossed my mind as the new year started.  First what should our goals be for the new year.  I am praying that with the new vaccines, we will be able to meet in April for our Convention with little in the way of restrictions.  Probably the optimist in me, but with the start of 2021, I think we should all evaluate our goals as members and to make sure that we are out there doing charity and recruiting.  Charity because that is what we do and there is a huge need for it right now.  Recruiting because with so much to be done, we need as many hands-on decks as possible.  Which brings me to the second thought that crossed my mind.  I have been told twice this year that I am the kind of Catholic that others look up to.  I am not bragging on this, because while it makes me proud it also scares me.  This is not the first time that I have been pointed out as a role model.   On the one hand it suggests that I am doing things correctly.  Poor sinner that I am, I know that I could be doing better in my role as a Catholic.  But I am also stressed by the fact that there are others that look to me as a role model.  What if I lead them astray by not living my life as a “model” Catholic?  I take it as a responsibility to do my best not to let that happen.

As such I am reminded of the lessons, I learned in the degree ceremonies.  1.) Devotion to Mary our Mother:  Praying and listening to God and asking for guidance from the mother of our Lord should help to keep me on the right path.  2.) Constantly forming myself in the Church teachings; If I educate myself as to what is proper and expected then I should be able to stay on the right path.  3.) Living my faith through my works; that one should be self-explanatory.  I have been informed that I am a role model and I suggest that you most likely are one too.  I challenge each of you to consider the three steps that I have listed so that you can fulfill your responsibilities as a role model.

2021 State Convention is early this year:  April 9-11, 2021.  I am hopeful that we will be able to meet again in person this year.  Please submit your registration paperwork as soon as possible.  I am also working to make online registration a possibility this year but have not yet completed the task.  Still striving Per Capita payments have been coming in and I want to thank those Councils that were quick to respond with payments.  There are a few that remain that either have opted for the payment plan or have not yet submitted a payment.  I will be in touch to follow up soon.  Remember your per capita must be fully submitted before delegates can be approved for the Convention.  With the per capita received so far, we have submitted payments of over $81,000 to Gibault.

Our Radio program Knight Vision is growing.  We are on two soon to be three radio stations and it is also available to download as a podcast.  Let us know what you think at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Keep up your good works of charity and lead your community closer to God.

Vivat Jesus!

Scott Schutte
Indiana Knights of Columbus
State Secretary
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Protect Your Family with Knights of Columbus Insurance. Read More

Find an Agent

Become an Agent